The Art of Losing Yourself

‘Some lose all mind and become soul, insane.

Some lose all soul and become mind, intellectual.

Some lose both and become accepted’.

 – BUKOWSKI

Have you ever been so caught up in your own life, or in that or others and forgotten to focus? Forgotten just to think. Just to breath?

It can be said that the word ‘lose’ has a negative appeal. It has a bad reputation, if you will. Unless the object causes you pain, why ever would you want to ‘lose’ it?

Why ever then, would you want to lose something so precious: yourself?

Society currently has so many factors influencing and culturally constructing the people in it. It has technically advanced itself so much and it seems there is nobody without a tv, without a phone, without a computer.

Recently I lost my phone. It broke. And I not only felt a weight off my shoulders, I felt empowered to know that trivial nonsense and drama could not reach me, could not buzz and ring in my pocket and make me respond. I walked out, and suddenly felt independent, as if I was the only one controlling my life. If something went wrong then I would be the only one who could fix it and who had to deal with it. I could not call up back-up. Likewise, without my phone constantly making me check it, I was able to look up and actually see the world.

In as much as I loved that feeling, guilty to say, I did go out and get a new phone.

But I did learn one thing: when you can lose yourself successfully, you can find yourself successfully.

Take away this trivial drama. Take away distractions and subjects requiring your attention. Release thoughts of needing to do this, needing to do that. If only for a moment.

Whether this is taking away your technology (*GASP*) .. I know, or putting your heart and soul into something you enjoy.

For me, its artwork, I can paint and will paint till the sun comes up, till the music stops playing, till the paints run out, till the pages cannot take any more. I can completely lose myself, drinking countless cups of tea and repeatedly redrawing lines till they are perfect. But that is just me.

‘We lose ourselves in the things we love.

We find ourselves there too.’

How can you lose yourself? Image

4 responses to “The Art of Losing Yourself

  1. once lost, we never wanna return
    losing oneself is a way to discovering
    one loses the self and finds the void
    one loses all and awakens to being in the moment

Leave a comment